Atlanta Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer
At Cruz & Associates, we want to help injured drivers recover after suffering injuries and other damages from drunk drivers. Our Atlanta accident attorneys understand that when a DUI leads to accidents, injuries and fatalities are common results, it’s often the innocent parties who suffer the most. It’s vital to know what to expect from the legal process and what type of compensation you may be able to secure from a lawsuit.
Georgia’s DUI Penalties
Every state has unique laws for handling DUIs. In Georgia, the penalties for DUI increase with each violation. Additionally, perpetrators of DUIs who cause accidents face not only criminal action from the state, but civil actions from their victims as well. A person who causes a DUI accident can expect a lengthy legal issue that can potentially impact future employment, the ability to legally drive, and lead to expensive legal fees and penalties.
The legal limit for blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) for drivers over 21 in Georgia is .08%. Anything over this limit will lead to a DUI charge. For minors under 21, the legal limit is .02%. For commercial drivers, the limit is .04%. Commercial drivers who cause DUI accidents may jeopardize their employment, and minors who receive DUI charges may face license suspension and difficulty obtaining future employment.
Georgia DUI Penalties include:
- License suspension
- Fines and court expenses
- Possible jail time
- DUI classes
- Increased car insurance rates
Your First Georgia DUI Offense
For a first DUI offense in Georgia the at-fault driver can expect multiple penalties, including:
- Jail time of up to one year
- Fines up to $1,000
- Driver’s license suspension for up to one year
The driver’s conduct and the results of the drunk driving typically dictate how harsh the penalties are. A DUI accident that causes a death or injury will lead to much more severe penalties than a simple traffic stop DUI charge.
Your Second Georgia DUI Offense
A second DUI comes with penalties including:
- Three days to one year in prison
- Fines up to $1,000
- License suspension up to three years
- The court may also require an ignition interlock device (IID) on the offender’s vehicle (these devices require the driver to blow into a breathalyzer before the vehicle will start to ensure the driver isn’t driving under the influence)
Your Third Georgia DUI Offense
A third DUI offense will carry penalties including:
- 15 days to one year in prison
- Up to $5,000 in fines
- Five-year driver’s license suspension
- IID installation
Suing for an Atlanta DUI Accident
If you suffered an injury or other damages from a DUI accident, it’s vital to protect your rights and seek legal action as soon as possible. The at-fault driver will likely face criminal action from the state at the same time you file your civil action for your damages, and these two cases may involve the same evidence and interplay in other ways. The right attorney can be a tremendous asset for successfully handling these situations.
The right Atlanta drunk driving accident attorney can help an injured plaintiff recover compensation for his or her medical expenses, lost income from missed time at work due to an accident, pain and suffering, and property damage. To succeed in a personal injury claim, the plaintiff must be able to prove the defendant’s negligence in court, and DUI cases often involve criminal charges that clearly define the defendant’s actions.
Cruz & Associates has more than 25 years of experience handling all types of car accident and drunk driving claims for our Atlanta clients, and we can put this experience to work for you in your DUI accident case. After receiving medical attention, reach out to the Cruz & Associates team to schedule a free consultation with one of our attorneys. We’ll review the details of your case and let you know what type of compensation you can expect from a lawsuit.